Learning, loving and growing; together as God's children

Welcome Message

Meet the Governors

Who We Are 

Foundation Governors 

Mrs Sarah Howard – appointed 20th July 2017

Sarah is Chair of Governors and is the Training and Development Link Governor. She is a secondary school teacher with pastoral responsibilities, a former pupil and a current parent.


Mr James Roles  - appointed 23rd October 2017

James is a Health & Safety teacher and adviser in industry and is the Health & Safety Governor.


Mrs Barbara Ingham - appointed 19th September 2018

Barbara is the SEND Governor.


(There are currently two vacancies for Foundation Governors)


Diocesan Foundation Governor 

Mrs Jenny Downham – appointed 1st September 2018

Jenny is the Safeguarding Governor and is the Link Governor for RE and Ethos. She is a retired Head of a Sixth Form College and has many years teaching experience. 


Ex-Officio Governor 


Mr Paul Sanderson - appointed in 1st September 2019

Paul is the Priest-in-Charge at St Stephen's Church, Elton


Local Authority Governor 

Councillor Jackie Harris - appointed 1st May 2019

Jackie is a local Councillor in the Church Ward. 


Parent Governors 

Mr Andrew Mielczarski – appointed 25th September 2019

Andy is the Vice-Chair of Governors, Chair of the Standards, Effectiveness and Pupil Welfare Committe and the Mathematics Link Governor. He is a former primary school teacher and works for the Prison Service as a Head of Learning and Skills Manager with responsibility for all learning within a local prison. He is also a current parent.


Mrs Lisa McCullough – appointed 12th October 2018

Lisa is Chair of the Resources Committee and the Pupil Premium Governor. 


Staff Governors

Mrs Jane Parsons – appointed 1st September 2016

Mrs Parsons is Head Teacher of St. Stephen’s CE Primary School


Mrs Charlotte Cooney - appointed 14th October 2019

 Mrs Cooney has been a teacher at St Stephen's CE Primary School since September 2016.  She has taught in KS1 and now teaches Year 3. She is the EYFS link governor.


Associate Member

Mr Robert Haigh - appointed in November 2016 

Robert is a Diocesan School Advisor, a SIAMS inspector and a former Secondary School Head Teacher. Robert is also a Foundation Governor at St. Anne's CE Primary School, Rossendale and is Company Director of RHA Educational Consultancy Ltd.

Robert has voting rights on the School Effectiveness and Pupil Welfare Committee and serves on the Head Teacher Performance Management Panel as agreed by the Governing Body.


Former Governors (2019-20)

Mrs Val Eustice - (Foundation Governor) appointed in September 2016

Val served as a governor for 4 years until September 2020.

Rev Kathy Selby - (Foundation Governor) appointed September 2016

Kathy served as a governor for 4 years until September 2020.

Former Governors (2018-2019)

Mr Chris Ryan - (Parent Governor) appointed in September 2015

Chris served as a governor for 8 years and stepped down in September 2019.

Mr Steve Clark - (ex-Officio Governor) appointed in May 2017

Steve served as a member of the governing body until July 2019.

Mrs Nicola Garside - (Staff Governor) appointed in September 2017.

 Nicola served two terms of office on the governing body and resigned from the governing body in September 2019. 

Former Governors (2017-18)

Mr Harold Baxter – (Diocesan Governor) appointed in September 2013

Harold served as a member of the governing body for over 30 years and retired from governance in September 2018.

Mr Matthew Ablett - (Parent Governor) appointed in April 2016

Matthew served two terms as a parent governor and resigned from the governing body in July 2018.

Mrs Kim Griffiths - (LA Governor) appointed in December 2017

Kim served as a governor for two terms and resigned from the governing body in October 2018.

Pecuniary and Business Interests

 A declaration of Business and Pecuniary Interests is made at the start of each meeting of the governing body and a record of this is retained by the clerk and the School.

Mr Robert Haigh is a governor at one other school.

Cllr Jackie Harris serves as a governor at one other primary school in Bury and at one high school in Bury.

Mrs Sarah Howard is a secondary school teacher in Bury and a parent of two pupils at the school. 

Mrs Jane Parsons has declared a Business Interest in the School's telephone system.