Learning, loving and growing; together as God's children

Welcome Message


All boards, whether in the maintained or academy sector and no matter how many schools they are responsible for, have three core functions:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

 The governors undertake their role on a voluntary basis. 

None of the Governors have business or pecuniary interests in the school. 


The Chair of Governors for 2018-19 is Mrs Sarah Howard and the Vice-Chair of Governors is Mr Chris Ryan. 



The Governing Body consists of five Foundation Governors appointed by St. Stephen’s Parochial Church Council, one Ex-Officio Governor, one Diocesan Foundation Governor appointed by the Manchester Diocesan Board of Education, two Parent Governors appointed by the parent community, one Local Authority Governor, and two Staff Governors; the Head Teacher and one appointed by School Staff. All Governors have a 4-year term of office.